Drinking and Driving Isn’t Cute

Being in college, one of the sweetest escapes is going out on the weekend. Nothing beats starting early by participating in Thirsty Thursday with a group of friends. Some of the best memories made in college are on the weekends- but did you know that every 51 minutes in America, someone is killed in a drunk driving crash?

I often hear people sharing stories from their weekends, full of fun and feeling carefree. However, about 8 out of 10 of those stories end with “Yeah dude, I was so drunk I have no idea how I drove home,” followed with laughter and fist bumps as others are agreeing because they can relate. I’m sorry, I didn’t realize that drunk driving was “cute” or a laughing matter? Far too often I hear stories like this and each and every time the story is followed with giggling and high-fiving.

With things like taxis, Uber and Lyft there is no excuse for someone to drive home drunk. There is always someone to call and I can assure you, it is a lot better to spend a few bucks on an Uber than thousands on court fees, bail or worse.

Before you go plan to go home after a night out, YOU decide. Who will be taking you home tonight?

drink-driving-e1418959113361

