One of my passions includes helping individuals with disabilities. I am a community living service worker and have been since I was a senior in high school. A community living service worker is someone who works with an individual with a disability to assist in performing everyday tasks, whether it be cooking, cleaning, going to an event or having a movie day- really anything. I have experienced so many emotions through having this job. I have worked with multiple individuals, each with different disabilities and have learned a great deal from each of them. I have experienced everything from joy and happiness to anger and frustration. It has changed me in a way that is unimaginable.

1491458_10203547218701978_2872495093753332845_o

1780859_10203094850553057_2112689130_n

This passion has led me to a great interest in Camp Southern Ground (CSG). CSG is a non-profit organization in Peachtree City, Georgia that was started by Zac Brown, from the Zac Brown Band. Being a country music fan and incredibly passionate about working with people, I have never been more excited! Since hearing about this organization in 2015, I have followed it every day, subscribing to their newsletters, emails, twitter, facebook- I have even gone as far as contacting them about being a counselor.

“Camp Southern Ground will serve children from all backgrounds, races and religions, with special emphasis on those with neuro-developmental disorders. In particular, Asperger syndrome, Tourette syndrome and Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD), and learning differences, such as ADD/ADHD and Dyslexia. Also children with social or emotional challenges, and  from military families.”

– See more at: http://www.campsouthernground.org/#sthash.GZkObxqT.dpuf

Zac Brown, according to the CSG website, is a former camp counselor and knows how a “positive camp experience can transform a child’s life.” He shares his dream is that children of all abilities are able to experience the “magic of the outdoors.” Being able to be part of an organization like this would mean the world to me and with it opening for the first time this summer, I am beyond excited to watch this organization grow and hope to one day become involved! Hopefully, it will inspire more people to want to start something like this.

 

 

