Over the past 2 summers, I have had the privilege of interning with Norton Healthcare through a program called the Mayor Summerworks Program (MSWP). The MSWP is a program which allows youth to gain experience in the professional world. This program was started in 2011 by newly elected- mayor Greg Fischer. At the time Louisville’s teen unemployment rate was at a record low, however, with the Mayor’s SummerWorks program has now provided more than 11,600 local youth, ages 16-21, with quality job experience. Since 2011, the program has continued to expand.

“THERE IS NO BETTER WAY TO MAKE A DIFFERENCE IN THE LIFE OF A YOUNG PERSON THAN TO HIRE THEM AND PUT THEM TO WORK. THEY WILL LEARN REAL WORLD LESSONS THEY WILL REMEMBER ALL THEIR LIVES – WHILE BUILDING LOUISVILLE’S TALENT PIPELINE TO THE FUTURE.”

– LOUISVILLE MAYOR GREG FISCHER

Through participating in this program, I was allowed the privilege to intern at Norton Healthcare, and not only gained experience but paid as well! I able to foresee both the marketing and communications departments, as well as both human resources and patient experience at a wonderful organization. I enjoyed every aspect of working at Norton Healthcare and was able to gain incredible experience and understanding as to what it is like to work for a big organization. Working for Norton Healthcare really opened my eyes to the business world, and while it is incredibly intimidating, it is not as scary as it is made out to be. As an intern, I honestly expected to be getting coffee, making copies, and following the “big dogs” around frantically, just like you see it in the shows. But this internship was nothing like that. Right away I was welcomed into the Norton Healthcare family with open arms and I couldn’t be more thankful.

Working for Norton Healthcare really opened my eyes to the business world, and while it is incredibly intimidating, it is not as scary as it is made out to be. As an intern, I honestly expected to be getting coffee, making copies, and following the “big dogs” around frantically, just like you see it in the shows. But this internship was nothing like that. Right away I was welcomed into the Norton Healthcare family, as I was greeted with cards and goodies. I felt honored and my anxiety about working in the corporate world began to go away.

I attended meetings of all sorts, from daily, to weekly, to monthly, and was welcomed each and every time. This summer, in particular, I was introduced to the world public relations and I fell in love with it. I thoroughly enjoyed getting to meet people from all backgrounds and hear their stories and how it relates to healthcare. Because of this internship, I am now a published “by line” author and have multiple postings on their website.

I gained such great perspective through this internship and have a better knowledge and understanding what it means to work and represent a company. I couldn’t have asked for a better experience or better people to begin my journey into the future.

For more information on the Mayor Summerworks Program and how to get involved, check out http://www.summerworks.org/.

 

